Michigan 4-H recognizes true leaders with 4-H State Awards

Thirty-six youth honored for their outstanding 4-H accomplishments.

Senior 4-H award winners

Senior 4-H award winners

EAST LANSING, Mich. — Nearly 100 outstanding Michigan 4-H members gathered on the campus of Michigan State University (MSU) June 23 to celebrate their accomplishments through the Michigan 4-H State Awards Recognition program. During the event, 36 youth received Michigan 4-H State Awards, the highest honor bestowed on Michigan 4-H members.

Hosted by Michigan State University Extension, the awards ceremony was held at the Huntington Club in Spartan Stadium and attended by 4-H awards delegates, their families, 4-H staff members and volunteers, industry partners and sponsors.

“It’s great to see so many wonderful 4-H members receive recognition for their community service and extensive 4-H work,” said Julie Chapin, director of MSU Extension Michigan 4-H programs. “These youth are an embodiment of the kind of true leaders grown through 4-H.”

Michigan 4-H State Awards are presented in 19 award categories that showcase the diverse array of 4-H knowledge, skills and experience. Recipients of the 2016 awards are:

  • Beef Science: Shelby Souva of Branch County (junior division) and Ciara Allen of Jackson County (senior division).
  • Biological Science: Jessica Timmer, Ottawa County (senior division).
  • Bird and Poultry Science: Addy Battel, Huron County (junior division). and Elizabeth Stockwell, Cass County (senior division).
  • Civic Engagement: Kayleigh Adams, Monroe County (senior division).
  • Communications and Expressive Arts: Ethan Harbaugh, Monroe County (junior division), and Karlie Lokuta, Monroe County (senior division).
  • Companion Animal Science: Dylan Sawdon, St. Clair County (junior division), and Megan Miller, Van Buren County (senior division).
  • Consumer and Family Science: Kallan Wilde, Menominee County (junior division), and Katie Kurburski, Emmet County (senior division).
  • Dairy Cattle Science: Anna Moser, Ingham County (junior division), and Julia Doughty, Mecosta County (senior division).
  • Environmental and Earth Science: Emily Malcolm, Van Buren County (senior division).
  • Equine Science: Kayla Brown, Van Buren County (junior division), and MacKenzie Gillum, Mecosta County (senior division).
  • Goat Science: Hannah Baljeu, Van Buren County (junior division), and Caleigh Ringkvist, Lenawee County (senior division).
  • Healthy Lifestyles: Peter Kurburski, Emmet County (junior division), and Kayla Aboukarroum, Lapeer County (senior division).
  • Leadership and Personal Development: Miranda Hall, Iosco County (junior division), and Samantha Beaudrie, Monroe County (senior division).
  • Plant Science: Aaron Hutka, Oakland County (junior division), and Heather Gregory, Oakland County (senior division).
  • Rabbit and Cavy Science: Caroline Helmstadt, Saginaw County (junior division), and Lian Glomski, Van Buren County (senior division).
  • Sheep Science: Jaycie Brown, Livingston County (junior division), and Samantha Ludlam, Allegan County (senior division).
  • Swine Science: Logan Houpt, Monroe County (junior division), and Sarah Houpt, Monroe County (senior division).
  • Technology and Engineering: Savannah Mauk, Eaton County (junior division).
  • Group Award: Thumb Area 4-H Team—Huron, Sanilac, St. Clair and Tuscola counties.

Michigan 4-H State Awards youth are at least 13 years old with three or more years of 4-H experience. To qualify for the award, 4-H’ers must submit a written application that showcases the learning experiences, knowledge and skills they’ve acquired through their participation in 4-H, as well as their contributions to their local 4-H programs, clubs and communities. Submissions are reviewed by the Michigan 4-H State Awards selection committee. This group of volunteers, staff members and industry experts determine which members are selected as award delegates. Delegates are then invited to participate in one of two additional phases: an interview process for seniors (ages 16-19), in which their skills and experience are further evaluated, or a vigorous leadership program for junior delegates (ages 13-15).

Junior 4-H award winners

“The rigorous application and interview process that youth have to go through to receive a 4-H award is just another example of how dedicated they are to the 4-H program,” Chapin said. “They’re doing great things in their clubs and their communities, and we’re grateful for the opportunity to reward them for their work by presenting them with a 4-H State Award.”

In addition to a physical award, each 4-H State Award winner in the senior division also receives a $200 cash award; junior winners receive $50 cash awards. These awards are made possible by the generous donations of the Michigan 4-H State Award Recognition program sponsors: the American Dairy Association of Michigan, the Battle Creek Kennel Club, the Berrien County 4-H Leaders Association, the Calhoun County 4-H Club Council, Judith A. Ellsworth, the Hillsdale County 4-H Council, the Howard Zindel Memorial Endowment Fund, the Ingham County 4-H Council, the Ionia County 4-H Advisory Council, the Ionia County 4-H Service Club, the Isabella County 4-H Council, the Kent County 4-H Council, the ,Lapeer County 4-H Council, the Mecosta County 4-H Council, the Menominee County 4-H Foundation Inc., the Michigan 4-H Goat Committee, the Michigan Cattlemen’s Association, the Michigan Pork Producers Association, the Michigan State Rabbit Breeders Association Inc., the Michigan Sheep Producers Association, the Monroe County 4-H Club Council, the Ogemaw County 4-H Council, the  Richard J. and Mary Ann Sullivan Dunn Memorial Endowment Fund, the St. Joseph County 4-H Youth Council, the Sanilac County 4-H Council, See Farms, the Shiawassee County 4-H Council, Shoup Weldon Creek Farms, Jane R. Sisung, the Van Buren County 4-H Leaders Association, the Washtenaw County 4-H Advisory Council, the Washtenaw County 4-H Livestock and Dairy Committee, and Mary J. Yeoman.

To learn more about Michigan 4-H and the State Awards program, visit 4h.msue.msu.edu.

Related Articles

Related Resources