International survivors of Suicide Loss Day

Survivor Day is the one day a year when people affected by suicide loss gather around the world.

Survivor Day is the one day a year when people affected by suicide loss gather around the world at events in their local communities to find comfort and gain understanding as they share stories of healing and hope. In 2016, there were over 350 Survivor Day events in 18 countries.

According to American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP):

  • The annual age-adjusted suicide rate is 13.26 per 100,000 individuals.
  • Men die by suicide 3.5x more often than women.
  • On average, there are 121 suicides per day.
  • White males accounted for 7 of 10 suicides in 2015.
  • Firearms account for almost 50 percent of all suicides.
  • The rate of suicide is highest in middle age — white men in particular.

While this data is the most accurate, it’s estimated the numbers to be higher. Stigma surrounding suicide leads to underreporting, and data collection methods critical to suicide prevention need to be improved. 

90 percent of people who die by suicide have a mental disorder at the time of their deaths. There are biological and psychological treatments that can help address the underlying health issues that put people at risk for suicide.

On Nov. 18, 2017, at 4:30 p.m. ET (3:30 p.m. CT, 2:30 p.m. MT, 1:30 p.m. PT), AFSP will host a 90-minute online program for those who aren’t able to attend a Survivor Day event in person.

Michigan State University Extension also has classes and resources available such as the Mental Health First Aid course and Handling Farm Stress on-line module.

For more information about managing chronic stress, contact your local MSU Extension office for available programs or to request a program. 

Related Events

Related Articles

Related Resources